Community Council Remit

County and county boroughs in Wales are divided into community areas and in the case of Rhossili there is an elected community council. A community council is a body corporate consisting of the chair, vice chair, Responsible Financial Officer (RFO or Treasurer) and the community councillors. Community councillors are elected by the local government electors for the community and hold office for a term of 4 years. The chair, vice chair and RFO are elected annually by the council from among the councillors.

For further information regarding the legal framework that Welsh Community Councils operate under, please visit the Welsh Government website: Welsh Government Information